Does high heel-to-toe drop shoes result to heel striking?

Does high heel-to-toe drop shoes result to heel striking?
Disclaimer: I am no expert in this field. However, I have experienced high heel-to-toe drop shoes to low drop shoes and even zero drop shoes.
Runners today are always obsessed with the concept of heel-to-toe drop. With the entrance of minimalism, zero drop shoes were considered as the ideal drop. Shoe brands were born out of this concept. Vibram FiveFingers and Altra are the most popular brands that upheld minimalism up to this day. 
I personally believe that midfoot – forefoot strike would be the ideal strike for runners. I have a midfoot strike. My shoe rotation consists of high drop shoes to zero drop shoes. 
When I wear zero and low drop shoes, midfoot strike is a must, especially if it is a low stacked shoe. Heel striking is painful and just does not feel right. 

When I wear high drop shoes, heel striking is an option. Due to the high drop, the heel touches the ground earlier than the reast of the foot. But even with a high drop shoe, I still strike with my midfoot.
To answer the question, the drop of the shoe does not affect your foot strike. If you have learned to strike with your midfoot, then regardless of the drop of the shoe, you will still strike with your midfoot. I have seen runners heel striking with low drop shoes with high stack. 
When you want to strike with your midfoot, you will seek to learn regardless of the shoe. So my advise to young runners, don’t listen when people tell you to buy a certain pair of shoe because it will correct your strike. TRAIN YOURSELF TO STRIKE MIDFOOT. It is a skill that can be learned and be engraved in our bodies and in our running mechanics.
Thus, shoes are only tools to help your running. They do not dictate your running.
Correct your running.
FUEL WITH FRUITS, RUN WITH SHOES and JUST RUN!!

Leave a comment